Chapter Three: The Lone Muskeeteer

I don’t want to die, I don’t want to die, I don’t want to die… Magdalena’s mind whispers over and over again until her mind is blank with nothing but those words. The night is still dark and the sounds outside get stronger and stronger, as if the person no longer cared about being quiet and had no patience for this event.

Magdalena looks around for something to grab, with darkness surrounding her she couldn’t see anything, so she kneels from the ground and feels her way around, dirt quickly making her hand dark and sticky. The sound outside gets closer. Panic begins to overwhelm her.

I don’t want to die, I don;t want to die, I don;t want to die. I DON’T WANT TO.

As she kneels her arms look for something atop the side table where her “father” always put his stuff before going to bed. The object feels hard and heavy, made of metal. She brings it down and holds it to her chest. The metal feels cold to her chest and her heart is beating a thousand beats per minute.

I don’t want to die, I don’t want to die, I don’t want to die.

She crawls back to the entrance and her eyes now better adjusted to the darkness can finally see who the person is. The tall figure was nothing but a shadow. The hair everywhere and one leg looked smaller compared to the other. This only created the appearance of a limp every time he walked, yet his speed was not affected. He was close to the hut beside hers and she quickly came to a conclusion, she would either die here or die out there.

I don’t want to die, I don’t want to die, I don’t want to die.

With the metal object still close to her chest she crawls as quickly as possible to the outside of the hut, laying low and quickly finds herself to the side of the hut. She swore the man could hear her heart, and panic began setting in.

I don’t want to die, I don’t want to die, I don’t want to die.

She felt movement in the inside of the hut. HE was waking up! Putting the metal object inside her small dress she crawled quietly towards the tress that was near the hut, it was wide enough to cover her from this angle, but any other angle would make her highly visible. At the moment she didn’t care. She just wanted to be far. The tall man with the limp walked to her hut and quickly moved the curtain covering the doorway to the side. That old thing never did protect them from anything, Magdalena had many bites that attested to that.  Hiding behind the tree she looks towards the hut.

Weird noises came from within the hut, a struggle of sorts before she could hear her father yelling.

Where is she?!? an unknown voice asked.

Grunts came from her father.

“I told you I would come for her” More grunts.

“Useless” and with that a loud bang could be heard. Magdalena covered her ears but was not quick enough.

The tall lanky man walked out the hut, eyes looking everywhere. A metal object on his hand.

I don’t want to die, I don’t want to die, I don’t want to die.

She waits until he turns his back and runs towards the woods.

This noise alerts him and he looks to see a small girl running. He puts his gun in his holder and runs towards her.

The chase was on.

Leave a Reply

